Home > publications > CRUSH OF THE MONTH – HOUSEFIRE – or the one where I post a lot of links

CRUSH OF THE MONTH – HOUSEFIRE – or the one where I post a lot of links

Housefire are a literary journal that make my eyes hurt with pleasure. I was introduced to them through the gorgeous writer Shannon Peil (also the editor of the lit journal amphibi.us) who asked if I wanted in on this prompt/chain title thingy this journal was orchestrating. I’d never heard of them before but trust Shannon’s judgement enough just to say yes because he asked.

Next thing I knew they’d published my piece ‘Making Connections‘, the title I chose from the three that Shannon sent me and I started reading through their archives. He then wrote an AMAZING piece from one of my title suggestions ‘Perfect Skin‘.

The work on there is some of the best around that I read on the web. No fooling. They are fresh.

They are related to the wonderful journal ‘Metazen‘ another one of my faves. How, I don’t know. I’m too scared to ask.

The completely adorable and off-kilter editor, Riley Michael Parker, then sent me a prompt in the form of a video and asked me to write a piece of flash fiction immediately after.

This is what he sent me –

.

This is what I wrote – ‘The Elvis I Prefer To Masturbate To‘.

Also to be sure to check out Riley’s ‘bios’ of the writers underneath each piece. Works of goddamn art.

Housefire’s home is here – Housefire

And you can follow them on Facebook here – Housefire

I highly recommend doing both.

x

  1. April 6, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    Damn I enjoyed that, and that bio is spectacular. I’d be hard pressed to come up with a better bio than a coffin built for two.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

