Home > you and me > you and me – POSTCARD #49

you and me – POSTCARD #49

My thanks to Rebecca from the U.S Detroit-area for sending in Postcard #49. Such a cute card, I really wanted to have fun with this one.

I guess I should also thank David Bowie… you know, for everything.

One more card to go until we’re officially at the halfway mark!

 

Green Apple Wine

Ground Control to Major Tom.

It’s hard not getting the song stuck in your head when we contact him like that. But since the incident it’s best to play safe.

Can you hear me, Major Tom?

Dennis scans the sheet of lyrics before him and I roll my eyes. An IQ of 235 and he can’t remember a pop song.

Ground Control, did you know the stars look very different today?

Tom’s voice comes through our headsets and we lean forward and type furiously, adding data, removing.

DJ Dr. Bones just started a set. I gotta go dance. This is Panda Tom, signing off.

The smell of sour sweat hangs in the air.

Operations have been in lockdown since Tom went crazy. Dennis keeps muttering that robots aren’t supposed to go crazy and kill their crew and think they’re space pandas.

Well Tom did before he even left the station. The ship is still in the hangar but Tom is in deep space.

The program had been simple. Get Tom to make contact. Once contact was established,***Classified***. Then we bring him back.

It’s gotta be a dream.

I roll my eyes again.

Dennis, just focus on your lyrics.

He throws the sheet.

What’s the point?

Because it’s the only way he will answer us.

Ground Control!

Tom suddenly screams and we all clasp our headsets.

Grease Monkey just reported from the engine room that there’s a serious problem with this tin can.

His voice lowered

Also, planet earth is blue.

A charge of static cuts into his pause and the Company announces,

Code Challenger. All staff to safety positions. Code Challenger.

Dennis runs for the door as we crawl under our tables and Tom whispers,

Ground Control, planet earth is blue and there’s nothing I can do.

 

  1. January 29, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Holy crap. I’ve been reading all of them and eagerly awaiting this day. The postcard is by Heiko Windisch, btw, whose art kicks butt.

    I love this song. Love it. I adore sci-fi. I love your writing. This is spectacular all around.

  2. February 2, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    Thank you, I’m so glad you liked it! It really was a wonderful card, should have known you were w Bowie fan with taste like that. I looked briefly at your blog but can’t wait to get stuck into it properly. You’re writing’s fantastic.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

