Home > you and me > you and me – POSTCARD #45

you and me – POSTCARD #45

This beautiful postcard was sent in by one of my favourite word nerds, Ryan Werner, who has the Our Band Could Be Your Lit project. I collaborated with Ryan back in July by sending The Cramps song ‘Some New Kind of Kick’  as a writing prompt and he produced the following story Follow The Water.

It’s a great project – and one I’ll be guest writing for soon.

Ryan wrote that he found #45 amongst a bunch of old postcards while visiting a friend in Grand Rapids, Michigan and that it yelled at him to be sent to me. I love a pair of bossy girls.

Thanks, Ryan.

 

coma

Since Dad left my sister talks in her sleep.

Han goes red when I tell her stuff she says but I don’t tell anyone else. She never told that time I wet the bed.

Han plays in the woods behind our house with the boys. Sometimes she lets me come. The trees are tall and pine needles make the ground spongy. It feels like woods that witches and wolves live in. Han says we don’t get wolves here and the witchiest thing would be the homeless guy. Sometimes we see where he’s been. Empty spaghetti cans. Shopping bags stretched into a tarp. The boys want to hunt him and use me as bait.

Han calls them dickheads when they talk like that and I’m glad when we leave.

Mum screams when we get home. She says things that make me cry but Han’s face goes blank. Like she’s asleep with her eyes open.

Like when she talks in her sleep.

You can have the gold. You use it to find Dad.

She’s sitting up in bed and staring at me but I can tell from her deep voice she’s asleep.

When our school went to Sovereign Hill she was the one that found gold. When I cried because there was only grit in my pan she gave me hers. We got dressed up like the olden days and took a picture. She said not to smile because photos were serious things back then. They were the only chance people had to remember their family forever.

Where’s Dad, Han?

She giggles behind her hand.

In the woods, Silly. You need to take him some spaghetti.

I wait until Han lies down before I go out to the yard and stare at the woods. Then I climb over the back fence.

 

 

 

  1. December 15, 2010 at 4:18 am

    you can have my breath, all the punch holes in my heart and my slackened jaw bone, yas. this one took them all.

    • December 15, 2010 at 10:55 am

      What treasures. Thank you, lady. x

  2. December 15, 2010 at 12:23 pm

    “You can have the gold. You use it to find Dad.”

    I woke up today with that line in my head. Killer, Yase.

    • December 16, 2010 at 11:36 am

      Aw, you’re awesome. I carried this beauty around with me for weeks. Thank you again.
      Working on my Wilco story now!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

