Home > you and me > you and me – POSTCARD #40

you and me – POSTCARD #40

#40 was sent in by the writer and editor, Chloe Caldwell, who I adore and admire in equal parts of infinity plus one, so you can imagine I was a little nervous about this one being up to standard. It ended up a pleasure to write though, it came in one clean sitting and reminded me why I’m loving this project so much. Thank you, Chloe.

 

svelte

She has a perfect body.

But it’s not just the supple curves and grace of her limbs. She holds it in an aloof way, as if it isn’t even part of her. When she comes about the room, she’s wearing a bright orange kaftan.

I pull my black cardigan closed over my breasts even though it’s warm.

Have you been in London long?

I ask everyone. No one’s ever from London, but she surprises me with a laugh.

I sure bloody didn’t swim over from Jamaica, Love.

My face and throat redden and I know she’s laughing with me but I still try to stammer out an apology.

I knew what you meant, Pet. Just having fun with the fresh colonial meat!

I blush even harder. My broad accent’s a constant source of mirth for the English.

She said later my blush was the reason she moved in. No one with a bad heart ever blushed like that. But she did have one condition. A road trip.

She’s adamant we drive nowhere in particular. Out of the sickly heat of the city and into the breeze of nameless towns.

Stop here.

She shouts as we pass a quarry that’s gleaming from the sun. She’s out and skidding down the dune, unwrapping her yellow sarong as she whoops, naked and waving a stick in the air.

I follow her after locking the car and pause a few steps beside as my feet sink into the same sand she stands on.

Take off your clothes.

My hands shake as I undress and stand beside her finally exposed.

I wait for her to say something. Someone always says something. But she doesn’t. She closes her eyes and lifts her face to the morning sun with a smile.

After a while I do too.

 

 

 

 

 

  1. October 20, 2010 at 10:47 am

    love. love. love. x x

    • October 20, 2010 at 3:12 pm

      Thank you, Gretchen. Your sisterhood support is the best. x

  2. October 20, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Your dialog and monologue is always gorgeous. Was this one sitting plus an edit or just straight out?

    • October 20, 2010 at 3:15 pm

      This one took about an hour and a half to write out and went over by about 80 words which I trimmed in the same sitting. The brevity helps me find out what the piece is really about when I have to cull like that. Also, you are too kind. From you that is a wonderful compliment.

  3. October 24, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    gorgeous, captivating mix of innocence and embarrassment.

    • October 25, 2010 at 3:01 pm

      Thank you. I really like your blog ‘too much’. Even more than it’s ‘nicer’ cousin ‘perfect’. Raw, amazing truths being told there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

