Home > you and me > you and me – POSTCARD #39

you and me – POSTCARD #39

#39 was a delight to receive as it was the first photograph sent in. The scene captured is so amazing. I carried this one around in my moleskin for weeks. Thank you GKN for sharing your most awesome of found objects with you and me.

 

Bombe Alaska

He points at a patch of worn carpet that bleeds into broken lino between the lounge and kitchen of the abandoned house.

I want her on the floor. There. And I want it to happen just out of shot.

George adjusts her glasses.

She’s not going to do it.

Yes she will.

He crouches by the doorway shaping his hands around the scene still in his head.

Don’t you think you’re asking a bit much?

Since when did you get so uptight?

George blushes while Anna smirks behind the camera.

Just because you passed out in the shower before the real party started, Georgie-pie, isn’t a reason for you to get pouty.

Okay. I’m ready. Get her in here.

I’m here.

Ava hovers in the doorway with her jacket folded over her arm staring at the spot on the floor. She’s almost obscured by the light and he doesn’t see the expression on her face.

Good. The light is good. Ready?

She sighs.

I’m not doing that.

You said you would.

I know. I still feel a bit sick.

Anna straightens up behind the camera.

I’m not shooting if she doesn’t want to.

He releases a long hiss of breath but does not look up from the spot on the floor.

You ‘don’t want to do it’? Then why are we here? You all know why. Because it needs to be real. It needs to be more than real. You think Salò would have been made if Pasolini had to work with cowards? You think Fellini would ever bother picking up a camera again? I thought you three were different. I thought you understood art.

The three women do not look at one another in the silence that follows as their decision is unanimously made.

 


  1. October 18, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Best one yet. I need to get on the ball and send you something. I promise to try and get this done by the end of the week.

    • October 18, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      Aw, thank you. And you know how I’m gonna hold you to that promise. This project is sorely lacking your presence.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

