Home > you and me > you and me – POSTCARD #27

you and me – POSTCARD #27

The saturated colours on this postcard were just beautiful. I think it’s an old postcard from Britain, but the Anonymous sender is from Australia. Thank you, Stranger,  for ‘the space between‘.

the space between

I can’t remember how long we’ve been here.

The days are sneaky, they slide into one another. I pay attention to my contraceptive pill. The days labelled around the small tablets help. It’s easy to know the morning. He wakes me and I accommodate without making a sound. We don’t do it any other way.

Breakfast is also easy. Every morning I walk around the buffets with white table-clothes. The children sit with their parents, sipping tea. My mother would approve. I toast a slice of bread. He reads the paper and I scrape butter and marmalade on my toast behind his broadsheet. It’s the loudest thing in the room.

The afternoon can be difficult. There may be an activity. I say yes to every suggestion. It’s easy to say yes. My mouth opens and offers with word without pause. No stays trapped, vibrating behind my teeth.

The island across from the resort has a castle on it. It’s very old, he says behind the brochure. At the island a youth with dark hair helps me from the boat. He rubs his thumb across my wrist and tells me I’m very beautiful. He tells me my new husband is a lucky man.

I wonder how much time has passed on the way back to the mainland. We stand where the crumbled cliff steps end in the sea and watch the small boat disappear in the space between us. He kisses my hand, the one with the diamond on it, and tells me how pleased he is before he heads back to the villa.

I watch the rising tide lap at my loafers and realise the suede will be ruined. I toss them into the sea and make a wish.

But I can’t remember what it is.

  1. July 1, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    This murdered me. Thank you.

    • July 1, 2010 at 2:24 pm

      Thank you, buddy. When’s yours getting here, by the way?

  2. Deborah Carter
    July 1, 2010 at 1:07 pm

    Sssh Yase, don’t say anything to disturb the silence!
    This was a really lonely sad piece. The distance between them spoke volumes. I loved it! I reckon you could develop this one in to a longer piece. It’s fantastic! Deb Carter

    • July 1, 2010 at 2:25 pm

      You know I can’t help disturbing silence. It’s sort of my thing.
      Guess which postcard is next!

  3. TF
    July 1, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    The writing is great – measured, evenly paced. There’s so much that isn’t said and I’d agree that the piece could grow into something bigger, but the voice is established so quickly that the silence just seems a part of the narrator’s personality. I don’t think we’d get anything more out of her…

    • July 1, 2010 at 3:08 pm

      Thanks, TF, I had a peek at your blog and like your brain a lot. I didn’t have anything smart enough to say in the comments (except I revere the Simpsons and Three and a Half Men makes me more than slightly nauseous) so it’s going straight in my reader.

  4. July 1, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    Poignant, pretty, perfect.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

