Home > you and me > you and me – POSTCARD #3

you and me – POSTCARD #3

This delightful Yoshitomo Nara (I LOVE YOSHITOMO -I thought I’d shout it in case it wasn’t already clear) postcard came with the word ‘kindred’.  There was no name on the card but I’m certain it came from a kindred Yoshi-lover.

kindred

Kindred

I like playing with Lou. She says the best friends are the ones no one else can see. I hug my knees and so does she. We look the same.  Except she’s prettier. I think we might be sisters but I’m not sure. I take my tablet while she sings.

Fly’s in the buttermilk, shoo, fly, shoo.

You have to take medicine?

I tell her it makes me not naughty.

She sticks her tongue out and I giggle because she’s got a tablet too – a blue one that looks like a lolly. She spits it out and it bounces across the bedspread.

Cows in the cornfield, what’ll I do?

She pinches me at the dinner table.

I want peas.

My arm hurts but I don’t cry because I’m brave.

You have to behave at the table, Lou.

Mum looks up from her plate like I said a swearword.

What did you say?

I shove the peas in my mouth.

At bedtime I tell Lou they’re going to make her go away again and she looks like she might spit but she still snuggles up next to me to dream.

Lost my partner, what’ll I do?

Mum’s crying at the kitchen table when I get up for my cereal. I pat her back wondering why she’s holding her long hair in her hands.

Dad walks out of my room holding the big scissors and he says what’s wrong with you in a funny voice, like he’s going to cry.

Lou says he’s a meany.

Did you do it?

She nods and sings.

Skip, skip, skip to my Lou,

But they think it’s me.

I climb under the blankets while Lou strokes my hair and holds the scissors close.

I’ll get another one, prettier than you,

Skip to my Lou, my darlin’.

  1. Anya
    March 14, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    …nom nom nom…

  2. March 15, 2010 at 9:04 am

    my favourite so far

  1. January 9, 2011 at 3:16 pm

Leave a Reply

