Home > you and me > you and me – POSTCARD #2

you and me – POSTCARD #2

This one is from Melbourne and was sent in by Jurate. I’m pretty sure the photo was taken by her also, as on the back of the postcard it’s titled ‘Winston’, Paris 1990.

Winston

Winston

I reach for another cigarette and know your face would wrinkle in that tense way if you knew. Everyone smokes here and I’m trying to think of a word that will describe the musky smell of this bedsit in the Marias. When I say how charming it is on the phone, I’m not lying, it’s just the amount of whiskey in the bottle. I never told you what you wanted to hear at home, but now it’s different. My voice hums all the way across the ocean and you don’t seem to be able to hear the static. I’ve stopped going to classes. I missed so many that stopping hardly seemed like an event. Just no more men on campus who spit as I pass. You sound cheerful when we speak now. Your voice has none of the cracks that it had when we lay in the dark on that last night. You think I’m going to be a famous artist. You probably brag to your friends about me. You imagine my cheeks cute and ruddy from the cold, not my hands cracked and bleeding from a skin disease I can’t pronounce in French.  I finish my drink and ignore the ache in the small of my back. I think about how I’ll feel when I sober up tomorrow and read this. I write down one more sentence before I screw up the piece of paper and throw it away.

I want to come home.

  1. March 12, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    I’m really enjoying your writing, these are very evocative pieces.

    • March 12, 2010 at 1:05 pm

      Thanks, Faith, I could say the same about your images.

  2. Jurate
    March 12, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    Bloody awesome, lady! This is kinda how it was… in Paris in 1990 in love… with the one left behind and then the new one met outside Shakespeare’s Bookshop (true!)… smoking cigarettes by the carton and drinking whiskey by the bottle… but actually NEVER wanting to come home… Your version is better, but then I’ve ALWAYS thought fiction is better than reality!!

    • March 12, 2010 at 12:52 pm

      I’m glad I could do that image justice! Thank you for sending such a wonderful spark in. Love that it has echoes of the fact but I completely agree…reality 0 – Fiction 1. x

  3. March 12, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    your project is the dopest idea and watching the stories come to life makes me shake with excitement… three more sleeps til meeeelbourne…

    • March 12, 2010 at 2:16 pm

      Thank you! Three sleeps is too many!!

  4. March 12, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    this was very intresting, the lAst line touch me ,ric

    • March 12, 2010 at 2:15 pm

      Thank you. I just read ‘Menace’ and have to say the same thing. Powerful, real writing. My favourite kind.

  5. Jess
    March 12, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    powerful and FULL of feeling, you are a talent indeed

    • March 12, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      Thank you, Jess. I think your photography is stunning too.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

