Home > Uncategorized, writing > don’t give up your day job

don’t give up your day job

I’ve landed myself a part-time job behind the bar of a very cool music venue and pub and I realised this is my first job to support my writing instead of writing being something that I do on the side of another career. It made me curious and I found out some interesting occupations that writers have had.

William Faulkner worked in a post office – until he was fired for reading on the job.

Haruki Murakami ran a jazz club until he started writing in his thirties.

J.D. Salinger worked in a meat-processing factory and then on a Caribbean cruise ship.

Franz Kafka worked for an insurance company.

Raymond Carver juggled writing and jobs as a hospital porter, textbook editor, dictionary salesman, petrol station attendant and deliveryman.

William S. Burroughs was a pest controller and a private detective.

Mary Gaitskill was a stripper.

Phillip K. Dick worked in a record store and briefly as a disk jockey.

There aren’t many writers and artists out there that can live off their craft alone, some continue to work even after fame and success.

Do you work a day job? I’d be interested in hearing what people do to do the thing they love.

  1. Sheamus
    February 17, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    I sit at a computer and enter data as you know, but the best part about this job is that during the frequent not too busy times I can actually do creative things while being paid at work. If I can drag myself away from facebook and music forums and blogs for long enough that is.

  2. February 17, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I where a suit for a living and spend most of my day on a computer doing boring Finance stuff for big fat peeps who earn too much money.

    • February 17, 2010 at 5:08 pm

      And in your ‘spare’ time you work within an organisation supplying food and shelter to homeless and sick children in Kenya? Man, that’s quite the contrast.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

