Home > writing life > eye candy for my walls

eye candy for my walls

I’m making a new wall.

First I made a little corner in the lounge to write in. It helps having a little space that’s just for your writing. Mine’s tucked away at the end of the house we call ‘the lodge’. Brick walls, diagonal wood panelling in different shades of finishing and a deep, ruby-red couch you sink into like a marshmallow. Yes. We know it’s amazing.

I like having visual treasures around me when I write. I’m not one of those that has to have a blank wall or I’ll get distracted. For me it’s the opposite. I’m like a bowerbird. Anything that gets me like blue gets them ends up there. Whenever I look at these little pieces of eye candy I feel something different every time. Sometimes the dude covered with bees is menacing others he’s an oasis of calm.

The one below is one from my bedroom.

It’s followed me around several houses in several different forms. They all have something to them that makes me smile and think. Either the story attached to the piece or what it inspires me to think about. A few honourable mentions would have to go to Jessica Tremp, Paul Compton and Deborah Hally – some incredibly talented Melbourne based artists from whom I’ve also bought art.  The pomegranates make me happy. The hand around the throat turns me on. The upside down rabbit girl fills me with creepy joy.

The new wall over my desk has just begun and really it’s started over these two artists whom I have MAJOR crushes on.

please excuse mysterious haze I’m going to attribute to the raw talent oozing in this area


The larger framed pieces are by Michael McConnell and Catrin Welz-Stein. I love pretty much everything they do and so they were the first to go up on my happy wall. Richard Avedon,  Catrin Welz-Stein and Jessica Tremp again, Edward Gorey, Cindy Sherman. They’re never really ‘finished’.  I never set out to find these pieces either, it’s not like I want a greatest hits of all my influences on my wall. I don’t want to end up like a fifteen year-old with a Smash Hits Poster special has decorated my house.

They sort of just find me.

It makes me happy, is all.

And it makes me want to write.

Check out all the links to these amazing artists, you will love them and me forever.

Close ups.

Here you can see ‘little wolf’ in all her glory. Beneath her is me with an octopus wrapped around my head – one of Jessica Tremp’s and one of the funnest shoots I’ve been part of. I just went along for support and a gander and ended up in the freezing surf on Great Ocean Road in a slip with Zed ( yes that was his name) on my head.

I’m especially in love with the Avedon ‘snake handler’ – the look in her eyes is so intense. Beautiful, always inspirational Cindy, a few Catrin Welz-Stein’s floating around.

Right next to ‘snake handler is another one of McConnell’s treasures, I don’t know her real name but I think owl girl might know things about little wolf.

I want to be one of Edward Gorey’s illustrations. I love his scratchy scribbles so much. In spite of the terrible things happen to them, I think it would be worth it.

And the picture of death cradling the young girl… the friend that found this image said when she saw it, she knew it was going to make me feel comforted and safe.

Most people think it’s a bit morbid but she was absolutely right.

Links to all these artists whose creations I make eye-love to all day.

Catrin Welz-Stein

Michael McConnell

Jessica Tremp

Paul Compton

Deborah Hally

Richard Avedon

Edward Gorey

Cindy Sherman

  1. February 13, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    aw x

  2. February 13, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    something that never seems to change between us is an eerily samey love for the same recipe in a picture

  3. February 14, 2010 at 9:36 am

    your house seems a beautiful museum. i heart yoshitomo nara and ms tremp’s work, thank you for recommending more Artists to explore! x x

  4. Lys
    February 15, 2010 at 4:11 am

    i’ve got to find a corner now

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

