Home > writing life > goodbye yellow brick tote

goodbye yellow brick tote

Do you have one of those places?

You know, where the carpet is sticky and the jukebox a god. It’s the kind of bar I’m guaranteed to meet like-minded music lovers at.  Bump into friends. Or just sit in the front bar on my own and smile into the beer while the jukebox wails distorted punk behind me. I want to take a piece of the wall with me. Shout out that this isn’t fair, this is my Chelsea Hotel. This is where home would always be. A smoke in the beer garden, filling notebooks and scraps of paper with details that end up in my stories. BBQ sizzling with a sausage while the band rages on inside. Discovering band after band on a Saturday front bar afternoon. Bruises from dancing in the band room. Saying hi to Iggy every time I head for the Cobra bar staircase. Familiar faces that pull it all together, behind the scenes, you nod, or half-smile, recognising them from gig to gig. Live music in pubs is a pulse that beats on, it gets in your skin and there’s suddenly no place like home – no place like this. The memories and stories we all have about this iconic place will fill books and documentaries there’s no doubt in my mind. Last night was the final goodbye show beginning with ECSR and ending with The Drones (covering God’s My Pal no less at the end of their set).  Can you just imagine the in between?

The way it’s ended has left a rotten taste in our mouths, but boy did this weekend taste sweet.

Here’s a place to make sure no more go this way. Petition To save Live Music

The Tote’s last Day – 2000 peaceful protesters doesn’t get the media coverage, as say 11 people getting chucked out of the tennis.

Eddy Current Suppression Ring kick things off with a sneaky 1pm performance that had all us early birds grinning.

The sublime Drones took us out in style.

Farewell, Iggy.

  1. January 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    a sad day indeed. i wish i could have lasted the distance. i regretted my early departure this morning.

    • January 19, 2010 at 9:42 pm

      Nah, you did good, little chipmunk.

  2. January 20, 2010 at 1:08 am

    What the hell are we going to do for fun now? Run down the footpath hitting hoops with sticks? Fuck.

    • January 20, 2010 at 10:31 am

      I’m still getting through with a hefty dose of denial sprinkled liberally with a dusting of hope that the day still can be saved. Fuck.

  3. January 20, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    I love the idea that every place we go is a potential story. Sometimes I think my “place” is just in my mind. Amazing pics.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

