Home > Uncategorized, writing life > under the skin

under the skin

The first one was hard
you see
I never could commit
pretty
little
tough
thing
scratched with needles
and blood
and ink
first I baulked
then I did.

I remember
the heat
his hands
my flesh
the exquisite
little death
the moment
being etched
being kept
in place forever.

Forever.

I breathed
not quite sure how
the word felt
on my lips
trickling over my ribs
as he pierced my skin.

Today her touch
was tranquil
her words
a gentle
flow
as we
laughed about
the things
we thought
and what
we now know.

This pain
is a gentle ache
of the risks
we take
with our
feet on the ground
reaching for
Lucy in the Sky
or changing every new day
with Ruby.

This time
I was glad
because
if I had to guess
at what forever
felt like
under the skin
I probably
would have
guessed
right.

Many thanks to the wonderful Jane at Chapel Tattoo.

  1. December 11, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    This counts as happy, right?

  2. December 12, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    This is stylish and beautiful. Knowing that there are wordsmiths capable of experiencing our world and painting the way it feels in such a unique way for readers to experience makes me very happy… so hell yes it counts! xo

    • December 17, 2009 at 11:50 pm

      Thank you. But me being me, you know I couldn’t help myself, and had to write a gloomy one right after. x

  3. madelinestevens
    December 21, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Wonderful poem and wonderful ink. I like how the tattoos are symmetrical but different.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

